Bee the Crazy Goon, Bee the Legend!

Let’s get straight to the point…How many months have passed by and I still find myself longing for something more than what I am currently doing. I am familiar with this feeling as it’s exactly how I felt before I dropped out of college to move up north for ministry school. God is constantly stirring our heart’s desires, but sometimes we’re just too wrapped up in our own twisted priorities to realize it or sometimes we just need that extra sense of confirmation. What am I getting at? Well let me explain…

My dreams and desires to travel is still very evident in my heart and I am currently saving up for it and planning out my destinations. I tend to ride a rollercoaster of emotions every time I think about it. It’s what I’ve been looking forward to and planning on for the past few years and now the time is approaching!

I currently have a job that is with out a doubt, given to me by God because it is all that I could have ever imagined and more. I am extremely grateful for the job that I have as it provides me with the means to make my traveling dreams come true, amazing new friends, helpful life skills, and improvements on my resume.

Most people would say I’m stupid to leave my job.

“Why would you quit such a great job to go travel? Why don’t you just keep it and travel a shorter amount of time?”

Well, something they don’t know is: I knew when I got this job it was going to be temporary. I knew the day I started it was not a long term gig and that I wasn’t supposed to get too comfortable there. I knew in my heart that God gave me this job to save for my travels and I wasn’t meant to stay there forever. I knew I was going to quit and travel once I had the money. I made sure to remind myself every day for the first month, “this is temporary.”

Call me crazy, but I’m still planning to quit despite their comments/questions. I won’t let them make me question God’s will for my life. It’s tough because I know where they’re coming from, but hey! Faith is spelled R-I-S-K. How am I going to say I truly and fully trust God if I don’t take a step out of my comfort zone and a huge leap of faith every once in a while? I’m not saying yours has to be as drastic, but when was the last time you took a leap of faith and had to full rely on God?

Anyways…So recently, since the time for me to go travel is approaching, I began to find myself questioning whether I was indeed making the right decision. I still fully believe God is going to provide, but I let people make me question..”What if it doesn’t work out? What if I don’t even go? What if…?” I was getting a little stressed and discouraged.

BUT THEN….

(Let me just tell you how good our God is)

A couple days after meeting up with my friend for breakfast to catch up on our lives, I’m driving to work and a honey bee lands on my window. I got really excited as this isn’t the first time this has happened. I’ve had a few bees (over time) land on my windshield and stay on there for an impressive amount of time.  I decided to look up the prophetic meaning of bees and declared it a God thing. Oddly enough, on this particular occurrence, I was unable to recall what the prophetic meaning of the bee was and decided to text my pastor to see if he could jog my memory .

I was so amazed! I’m ashamed to admit it, but I almost forgot how God can communicate to us in so many ways. I just felt like it’s been a while since I’ve experience this kind of awe moment. Who knew this little bee would bring me so much peace and confidence? God knew. He knew exactly what I needed to hear in that moment. It was a journey to get to the land of milk and honey and there were those who doubted and were too scared to go because they allowed their reality to blind them from seeing God’s will. Sometimes we just need to adjust the lens we view life with to be able to enjoy the “Promise Land” God intended for us.

Not only that, but I receive a text from my friend I had breakfast with offering me a job at her work that pays about the same as my current job. She even mentioned her boss may work with my travels and everything. I was so happy and honored as it would be ideal to get a position like that where I can continue to save for a place of my own when I get back.

Even though I won’t be able to take her up on the job offer (since I don’t know when exactly I will be back),  it still spoke volumes to me. I knew it was another God thing. He was just reminding me that He always has my back. He knew I needed that extra reassurance and man, did I feel such a sense of joy and peace.

Bottom line is….follow the desires God has put on your heart with full confidence. You know what He has asked you to do. It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t make sense to anyone else. I mean, Noah was seen as a crazy goon, but it was because that crazy goon minded his own and continued to follow what God had asked him to do that he was able to provide shelter from the flood.  Everyone knows Noah’s story. He’s a legend! So go on and live out your own story and be the legend you were called to be 🙂

 

Leave a comment